Skip to main content
ABOUT  |  CONTACT  |  HELP

Speakers Corner #46: Making Savings Work for the Poor: What We Know, What We Don't, and Where We're Headed

Thank you for your interest in the current discussion!

The Speakers Corner, an ongoing, facilitated discussion over three days, will start around 8AM EST on June 5 and continue until about 6PM EST on June 7. The New America Foundation will also be hosting two webinars on related topics to this Speakers Corner on June 6 and 7. You can find out more information in the "Welcome" section below.

(EST 8:00, Lima 8:00, Accra 12:00, London 13:00, Nairobi 15:00, Moscow 16:00, Dehli 17:30, Jakarta 19:00, Beijing and Manila 20:00) 

To participate with your KDID account, click "Log in to Join This Discussion."

If you are already logged in, click "Join This Speakers Corner." Please read the important Tips for Participants for valuable information.

Contact us with any questions about registering or participating in this discussion.

Forum

Welcome
Day 1 June 5, 2012 The landscape of formal savings for the poor
Day 2 June 6, 2012 Exploration of what is working and why
Day 3 June 7, 2012 Road bumps and the way forward

Welcome to Speakers Corner #46 on "Making Savings Work for the Poor: What We Know, What We Don't and Where We're Headed." The discussion will begin on Tuesday, June 5. Please create an account on Microlinks and join this group in order to participate in the upcoming discussion. We look forward to your questions and comments!

This discussion will address the following:

  • Day 1: What is the landscape of formal savings for the poor?
  • Day 2: What is working and why?
  • Day 3: Road bumps and the way forward: where are we headed?

In addition, please join the New America Foundation on June 6 and 7 for webinars on topics related to this Speakers Corner. Facilitators for Day 2 and Day 3 will provide links during the discussion to access the webinars.

The webinar on June 6 is entitled “Experimentation for a New Generation of Savers” and will provide examples of approaches and mechanisms being implemented by financial service providers and non-governmental organizations that are making savings work for young people. It will be facilitated by Rani Deshpande from Save the Children and Rossana Ramirez from Freedom from Hunger.

Eric Tyler from the New America Foundation will facilitate the webinar on June 7 entitled "Savings for the Poor Innovation & Knowledge Network (SPINNAKER): An attempt to collaboratively overcome the challenges of the savings field". This webinar will showcase the recent efforts of the SPINNAKER project to bring together the savings for the poor field to address gaps in data, review lessons learned, and discuss openly the way forward.

5:36 PM | Jsebstad2 | Last comment by Jsebstad2
994
Views
10:52 PM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by ashepherd
26
Posts
26 New
5,624
Views
9:52 AM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by nreddy
1
Posts
1 New
2,882
Views
12:47 PM | ddean31 | Last comment by ashepherd
17
Posts
17 New
5,964
Views
3:12 PM | ddean31 | Last comment by Cristian Shoemaker
2
Posts
2 New
2,994
Views
7:32 PM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by ashepherd
2
Posts
2 New
3,376
Views
8:12 PM | ddean31 | Last comment by ddean31
2,307
Views
06:47 AM | Dasha Kuts | Last comment by ashepherd
18
Posts
New
4,348
Views
11:41 AM | Rossana | Last comment by jpeachey
13
Posts
New
1,646
Views
12:56 PM | Rossana | Last comment by Rossana
1,164
Views
05:48 PM | Rossana | Last comment by rmeyer
7
Posts
New
1,365
Views
07:24 PM | Rossana | Last comment by Rossana
1,369
Views
11:09 PM | nisha.singh | Last comment by hbrady
9
Posts
New
1,607
Views
10:05 AM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by Cristian Shoemaker
4
Posts
New
1,378
Views
12:21 PM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by dmyhre
3
Posts
New
1,857
Views
12:52 PM | nisha.singh | Last comment by Ashleigh Mullinax
1
Posts
New
1,193
Views
03:18 PM | nisha.singh | Last comment by nisha.singh
1,037
Views
08:59 PM | jmzimmerman | Last comment by jeffashe
4
Posts
New
1,572
Views